Waqrapukara – The “Horn Fortress”

Waqrapukara, loosely translated as the “horn fortress” in Quechua is a pre-Inca and Inca site, located in the district of Pomacanchi, in the department of Cusco, Peru.

Waprapukara refers to the topographic outcrop formation of the summit, but has also been called Llamapukara, meaning “fortress of the flame”, and Llaqtapukara, meaning “town barracks”.

- Advertisement -

Waqrapukara was constructed by the Qanchi ethnic group on a mountain peak overlooking the Apurímac River, located 4,000 metres above sea level.

According to legend, the Qanchi were ruled by T’ito Qosñipa, who fought the Inca on the slopes of Mount Phiñaypampa. The Qanchi were defeated and fled to Waqrapukara, which was placed under siege for 15 days.

Image Credit : fernandoalonsostockfilms – Shutterstock

T’ito Qosñipa was forced to capitulate, but in exchange for swearing loyalty to the Inca, he and his warriors were spared from execution. As punishment for the Qanchi’s defiance, the Inca selected 100 Qanchi warriors and cut off one ear marking them as “mottoqanchis”.

Waqrapukara has been described as a residence of Inca nobility, but also a centre of astronomical observation, and at the same time a religious centre attributed to the sun, the moon, and Viracocha, the great creator deity in the pre-Inca and Inca mythology.

- Advertisement -

Waqrapukara consists of a citadel in the middle of a rocky spur, where there are two groups of enclosures that are separated by a large central space. This is surrounded by eight artificial terraces with retaining walls that follows the topography, and a series of enclosures on the east and western end.

Header Image Credit : Adrian Diez Albeniz – Shutterstock

- Advertisement -
Mark Milligan
Mark Milligan
Mark Milligan is multi-award-winning journalist and the Managing Editor at HeritageDaily. His background is in archaeology and computer science, having written over 7,500 articles across several online publications. Mark is a member of the Association of British Science Writers (ABSW), the World Federation of Science Journalists, and in 2023 was the recipient of the British Citizen Award for Education, the BCA Medal of Honour, and the UK Prime Minister's Points of Light Award.

Mobile Application


Related Articles

Archaeologists search crash site of WWII B-17 for lost pilot

Archaeologists from Cotswold Archaeology are excavating the crash site of a WWII B-17 Flying Fortress in an English woodland.

Roman Era tomb found guarded by carved bull heads

Archaeologists excavating at the ancient Tharsa necropolis have uncovered a Roman Era tomb guarded by two carved bull heads.

Revolutionary war barracks discovered at Colonial Williamsburg

Archaeologists excavating at Colonial Williamsburg have discovered a barracks for soldiers of the Continental Army during the American War of Independence.

Pleistocene hunter-gatherers settled in Cyprus thousands of years earlier than previously thought

Archaeologists have found that Pleistocene hunter-gatherers settled in Cyprus thousands of years earlier than previously thought.

Groundbreaking study reveals new insights into chosen locations of pyramids’ sites

A groundbreaking study, published in the journal Communications Earth & Environment, has revealed why the largest concentration of pyramids in Egypt were built along a narrow desert strip.

Soldiers’ graffiti depicting hangings found on door at Dover Castle

Conservation of a Georgian door at Dover Castle has revealed etchings depicting hangings and graffiti from time of French Revolution.

Archaeologists find Roman villa with ornate indoor plunge pool

Archaeologists from the National Institute of Cultural Heritage have uncovered a Roman villa with an indoor plunge pool during excavations at the port city of Durrës, Albania.

Archaeologists excavate medieval timber hall

Archaeologists from the University of York have returned to Skipsea in East Yorkshire, England, to excavate the remains of a medieval timber hall.