British Archaeological Awards nomination deadline approaching

The British Archaeological Awards are a showcase for the best in UK archaeology and a central event in the archaeological calendar. Established in 1976, they now encompass five awards and two discretionary awards, celebrating every aspect of UK archaeology.


The purpose of the Awards is to advance public education in the study and practice of archaeology in all its aspects in the United Kingdom, and in particular by the granting of awards for excellence and/or initiative.

The Awards are committed to recognising significant contributions to knowledge and the importance of research, professional standards and excellence, involvement of local communities in the study of archaeology, effective dissemination and presentation of archaeological knowledge, and innovation and originality of approach.

Criteria for the awards

Each award has a set of criteria the judges assess nominations against.


BAA trustees also have the option of awarding an award for Best Archaeological Discovery and a Lifetime Achievement Award to an individual who over their working life has:

  • Made a substantial contribution to our knowledge of the past in the UK by archaeological means
  • Demonstrated originality of approach, methodology and presentation
  • Shown commitment to recognised professional standards and ethics
  • Been effective in dissemination and presentation of research
  • Supported and inspired colleagues, students or members of the public

Awards 2014

  • Best Archaeological Project
  • Best Community Engagement Archaeology Project
  • Best Archaeological Book
  • Best Public Presentation of Archaeology
  • Best Archaeological Innovation

Previous Winners 2012

  • Best Archaeological Project 2012

Must Farm Palaeochannel Excavations 2011

  • Best Community Archaeology Project 2012

Thames Discovery Programme

  • Best Archaeological Book 2012

Gathering Time: Dating the Early Neolithic Enclosures of Southern Britain and Ireland by Alasdair Whittle, Frances Healy and Alex Bayliss. Published by Oxbow Books.

  • Best Representation of Archaeology in the Media 2012

Time Team, Series 18, Episode 1, Reservoir Rituals, Tottiford, Devon.

  • Best Archaeological Innovation 2012

The Grey Literature Library.

  • Best Archaeological Discovery 2012

Must Farm Palaeochannel Excavations 2011, Whittlesey, Cambridgeshire.

  • Special Merit Award

Operation Nightingale.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award 2012

Professor Mick Aston.


Nominations close midday on Friday 28 February 2014. Nominate Today – Click Here

Header Image : Operation Nightingale


Related posts